ASA SoftballUSA Softball
Visit the ASA's Facebook pageVisit the ASA's Twitter page

About ASA

ASA honors umpires at 23rd Biennial Umpire-in-Chief Clinic

OKLAHOMA CITY --- Over 60 umpires were honored by the Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America, bringing the 23rd Biennial Umpire-in-Chief (UIC) Clinic, held at the Biltmore Hotel in Oklahoma City, to an end. With over 450 umpires in attendance at the Saturday evening banquet, the ASA Umpire family gathered to recognize years of service, awards of excellence as well as the Merle O. Butler National Award of Excellence. ASA/USA Softball also honored members of the National Umpire Staff who retired since the last UIC Clinic, which was held in 2011.

The evening was highlighted by the 15 Regional Awards of Excellence and the Merle O. Butler National Award of Excellence that was given to Wayne Vaught (Yukon, Okla.) who was honored for his time and service as the UIC and Umpire Coordinator for events at the ASA Hall of Fame Complex. Dick Gayler (Kennesaw, Ga.), Mark Ingrao (Falls Church, Va.), Walt Sparks (San Antonio, Texas) and the late Max Wilkes were also recognized for their retirement from the National Umpire Staff.

The following individuals received Awards of Excellence for their respective regions:
Region 1 New England – Norm Davis (Auburn, Maine)
Region 2 Mid Atlantic – Jim Peters (Linden, N.J.)
Region 3 Central Atlantic – Mark Ingrao (Falls Church, Va.)
Region 4 South Atlantic – Ed Rowe (Chattanooga, Tenn.)
Region 5 Southern – Annette Pevy (Tallahassee, Fla.)
Region 6 Southwestern – Dennis Wanzer (Enid, Okla.)
Region 7 Texas – Danny Bowman (Lone Oak, Texas)
Region 8 Great Lakes – Jim Mitchell (New Richmond, Wis.)
Region 9 East Central – Tim Klemm (Harrison, Ohio)
Region 10 Mid West – John Smart (Hardinsburg, Ky.)
Region 11 Northern – Keith Cook (Little Canada, Minn.)
Region 12 Mid America – Greg Pohl (St. Louis, Mo.)
Region 13 Rocky Mountain – Ralph Anderson (West Point, Utah)
Region 14 Pacific Coast – Chris Drumm (Oceanside, Calif.)
Region 15 Northwest – Jack Eppley (Anchorage, Alaska

The following individuals were recognized for their years of service:
Kayleen Dunson 5 years – Seattle ASA
Jeff Rice 10 years – Colorado ASA
Ralph Anderson 15 years – Utah ASA
Stan Finch 15 years – Hawaii ASA
Steve Zawierucha 15 years – Maryland-DC ASA
Mike Graber 20 years – Alaska ASA
Mike Terlecky 20 years – Buffalo ASA
Steve Huskins 20 years – Piedmont ASA
Chad Mitchell 20 years – Wisconsin ASA
Jack Mettier 25 years – Central California ASA
Bill Gubel 25 years – Sacramento ASA
Warren Collatt 25 years – Minnesota ASA
Jack Walker 25 years – Missouri ASA
Greg Pohl 25 years – St. Louis ASA
Kathy Zifchock 25 years – New York ASA
David Anderson 25 years – Oklahoma ASA
Ed Rowe 25 years – Tennessee ASA
Fran O'Donnell 25 years – Wyoming ASA
Steve Riswold 25 years – South Dakota ASA
Chuck Louie 30 years – San Francisco ASA
Tony Roberto 30 years – Connecticut ASA
Bobbie Seals 30 years –Nebraska ASA
Glenn Colburn 30 years – New Hampshire ASA
Newton Buckner 30 years – Southern New York ASA
Don Alexander 30 years – Oregon ASA
Terry Ryan 30 years – Memphis ASA
Ron Selph 30 years – Fort Worth ASA
Mike Bozeman 35 years – Alabama ASA
Wally Latall 35 years – Arizona ASA
Jill Suico 35 years – Oakland ASA
John Orlowski 35 years – Kansas City ASA
Johnny Campbell 35 years – New Mexico ASA
Mike Wolf 35 years – North Dakota ASA
Joe McGeever 35 years – Philadelphia ASA
Charlie Moss 35 years – Central Virginia ASA
Jerry Williams 35 years – West Virginia ASA
Steve Roscia 35 years – Maine ASA
Bob Mauger 35 years – New Jersey ASA
Jim Craig 35 years – Buffalo ASA
Jerry Stewart 40 years – Mississippi ASA
Jim Peters 40 years – New Jersey ASA
Gene Harrison 40 years – Oklahoma ASA
Dave Epperson 40 years – Kansas ASA
Jerry Fick 45 years – Cincinnati ASA
Dave Maudsley 45 years – Sacramento ASA
Walt Sparks 55 years – San Antonio ASA
Ike Wheeler 60 years – Louisiana ASA

The following individuals were recognized for attending all 23 UIC Clinics:

Les Novak- St. Louis Park, Minn.
Kinard Latham- Columbus, Ga.
Henry Pollard- Richmond, Va.

To learn more about the ASA Umpire program please visit

About ASA

The Amateur Softball Association, founded in 1933, is the National Governing Body of softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. The ASA has become one of the nation’s largest sports organizations and now sanctions competition in every state through a network of 76 local associations. The ASA has grown from a few hundred teams in the early days to over 210,000 teams today, representing a membership of more than three million. For more information on the ASA, visit

About USA Softball

USA Softball is the brand created, operated and owned by the ASA that links the USA Men’s, Women’s, Junior Boys’ and Junior Girls’ National Team programs together. USA Softball is responsible for training, equipping and promoting these four National Teams to compete in international and domestic competitions. The USA Softball Women’s National Team is one of the only two women’s sports involved in the Olympic movement to capture three consecutive gold medals at the Olympic Games since 1996. The U.S. women have also won nine World Championship titles including the last seven consecutive as well as claimed six World Cup of Softball titles. For more information about USA Softball, please visit

< Back to previous page

Subscribe to Balls & Strikes


Certified Equipment

Communications Center
National Softball Hall of Fame
ASA Hall of Fame Complex
Contact ASA

Trademark Notice
Privacy Statement
Terms of Use
Site Map   Webmaster
Copyright © 2015 ASA